3 men and 2 women inside room.
Mary Carolan, Tony McGarry (Scholarship Board), Sean Staunton (Chairman, Scholarship Board), Christy Loftus and Fiona Togher at the announcement of the 2013 Corrib Natural Gas scholarship winners.

Under new arrangements introduced for the current cycle, sixteen scholarships, each valued at €2,000 per year of the selected course are on offer. Previously, ten scholarships, valued at €4,000 per year of scholarship, had been awarded annually.

The following were awarded scholarships: Sabina Barrett, Binghamstown; Caitlin Brady, Pullathomas; Paul Carey, Killala; Jonathan Cosgrove, Bangor Erris; Martin Cosgrove, Muingmore, Bunnahowen; Bryan Deane, Corclough West; Michael Gallagher, Rossport;

Padraic Gallagher, Kincon; Meghan Harte, Kincon; Rachel Lally, Tallagh, Belmullet; Oisin McGrath, Rossport; Colin McHale, Muingingaune, Barnatra; Jonathan Murphy, Corclough East; Hazel O’Connor, Seaside, Belmullet; Serena Padden, Tallagh, Belmullet, and Molly Sidiakina, Barrack Street, Belmullet.

Announcing the scholarship recipients, Seán Staunton, Chairman of the Scholarship Board, said the members had decided that it would be beneficial to spread the scholarships over a bigger number of students even if that was to result in a reduction in the amount of the award.

This year we invited the applicants to come together to write their essays on the theme: “Ireland and the EU- a valued and worthwhile relationship?” It proved to be a worthwhile exercise and we got an understanding from the students of how much they appreciated the scholarship. There was general agreement that increasing the number of awards was a positive move,” he said.